Argentina v Germany World Cup Final History

Argentina and Germany will meet in a World Cup Final for a record breaking third time on Sunday in Rio de Janeiro at the Maracanã. The two sides have split their two head to head finals thus far and this third final will act as the rubber match of the series. Both sides are looking to make history, a German win would mark the first time a non South American country has won the World Cup on South American soil and an Argentina win would give them a world title on the soil of their bitter rivals Brazil. Here is a quick look at the past two finals these countries have contested:

1986, Estadio Azteca, Mexico City

Argentina 3 West Germany 2









Manager Carlos Bilardo set out Argentina in a 3-5-2 formation featuring some guy named Maradona as captain and a second striker. Germany also utilized a 3-5-2 formation (the hot formation at the time) under the direction of manager Franz Beckenbauer. The star player at the time for Germany was striker Karl-Heinz Rummenigge the current chairman at Bayern Munich.

Argentina took the lead in the first half on a goal in the twenty-third minute from sweeper Jose Luis Brown on a free-kick to the right of goal. That goal held until halftime and Argentina doubled their lead in the fifty-sixth minute courtesy of a Jorge Valdano side-footed strike. Germany made things interesting though scoring two goals off corners in the seventy-fourth minute and in the eighty-first minute from Rummenigge and Voller. The score did not stay level for long though and Argentina scored the third and winning goal just minutes later at the eighty-four minute mark off the boot of Jorge Burruchaga from a pass into open space from Diego Maradona.

The German loss was a history making moment as Franz Beckenbauer became the first person to lose a World Cup final as a player and a manager.

Watch highlights of this match here: Argentina v Germany World Cup Final


1990, Stadio Olimpico, Rome

West Germany 1 Argentina 0








Germany got revenge against Argentina for the loss in the previous World Cup final in Mexico. Bilardo and Beckenbauer were still the managers for each side and they both set-up (again) in a 3-5-2 formation. The 1990 final was the first World Cup final for current USMNT manager Jurgen Klinsmann who started the game at striker.

This match ended up being a more cagey affair than the previous final with just one goal scored and featured the first red cards in World Cup final history with two Argentine players being sent off at the sixty-fifth and eighty-seventh minute marks. The lone goal of the match was scored via penalty in the eighty-fifth minute by Andreas Brehme who was a defender for Inter Milan at the time. 

This World Cup win was Germany’s third World Cup title, a number they haven’t added to since.

Watch highlights of this match here: 1990 Argentina v Germany World Cup Final

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone

About author View all posts



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *